Department of Nordic Research – University of Copenhagen

About the department

As of January 1st 2015 the department comprises the following four sections:

  • The Arnamagnæan Institute
  • Dialectology Section
  • Name Research Section
  • Centre for Language Technology

The department has three main tasks, namely research, teaching and consultancy work within the fields of interest of the four sections. These include, first and foremost: Norse, Icelandic and Faroese language and literature, Danish dialects, regional languages and sociolects, language technology and computational linguistics as well as Danish and Nordic place-names and personal names.

All sections undertake consultancy work for public institutions as well as for the public. Read more.